The identity of officials on one of the most powerful government boards in Australia – which has the effective power to strip Australians of citizenship – has been revealed for the first time.

A freedom of information request by Guardian Australia for minutes of the Citizenship Loss Board’s first meeting in February 2016 shows the panel is made up of senior departmental secretaries from across government. Below is a useful summary and the document uploaded to the GIMC website.

Download: Citizenship Loss Board Committee minutes meeting including Committee members.

  • Chair of the Board: The Department of Immigration and Border Protection chairs the Board

In the relevant part, the members of the committee are listed as “Deputy Secretary level representatives” of the following:

  • Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet;
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade;
  • Australian Secret Intelligence Service (ASIS);
  • Attorney-General’s Department;
  • Australian Crime Commission;
  • Australian Federal Police;
  • Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO);
  • DIBP (Deputy Secretaries: Policy; Visa and Citizenship Services; Intelligence and Capability; and Deputy Commissioner Operations); and
  • Department of Defence.

It says that “this membership enables the Board to bring an appropriate range of cross portfolio perspectives and expertise to the implementation of the legislation”.

These are the people who decide who loses their Australian citizenship or otherwise.

Citizenship Loss Board IDC

A screenshot from the minutes of the meeting in 2016.

2,522 total views, 2 views today



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This